Hi everyone! My name’s Miles and I’m from London.

I’ve lived in Slovakia for twelve years.

In London I worked for a large bank but after seven years I was happy to leave and start a new career of teaching English in Slovakia which I very much enjoy.

I have two children, Filip, who’s 12 and Noami, who’s 9.

If I have some free time I like visiting the High Tatras or trying to learn the trumpet again which I played when I was younger

(and of course try to improve my Slovak:).







Full name: Miles Robert Cook

Place of birth: London, England

How would you describe your age? 41 and counting!

What did you do originally before starting teaching English? I worked for a bank called Barclays in London. I worked with the public and was in charge of all the cash in the bank🙂

Years at SpeakUp: I think ten years!!! I should get a gold medal!

What´s your best quality? People say that I smile a lot, so I think that’s a good quality!:)

What makes you laugh? If I make a really stupid mistake.

What do you dream abou tthe most often? Well, that should be a secret but I will tell you…It’s that I work for McDonald’s and I can eat as much as I like! But Restart burger is better;)

Why are you a teacher? I didn’t plan on being a teacher but when I moved to Slovakia it was the natural option. I really like it and hope that I am good!

What do you regularly do for the planet Earth? Well, I recycle my waste but I also try to fix things if they are broken. If I am out walking, sometimes I pick up rubbish and put it in the bin where it belongs!

What´s your earliest memory? Receiving a big toy car which I could sit in, for my third birthday!

Which sport would you never do? Why? Sumo wrestling! Because those pants look very uncomfortable!

What´s your favourite hobby or free time activity? I like walking in Slovak Paradise and I really like tennis but unfortunately I don’t play very often.

How many times a day do you brush your teeth? Two of course! But after eating some onion maybe I should brush them again🙂

What´s your favourite meal? I love Chilli Con Carne. It’s one of the only meals I know how to make! But I also like Halusky with bacon🙂

Which film are youable to watch over and over? Home Alone and Indiana Jones! These are the films which they show every Christmas in England.

How often do you do any free-time physical activity? Which one? I walk every Saturday and Sunday for at least one hour but it’s not very physical so I am thinking to start running.

What would you like to do everyday? Do a good deed. That means that you do something nice for someone everyday.

How many books do you read in a year? Not many because I am a very slow reader! I read the news and articles a lot but somtimes one book takes me three years! However I read at bedtime with my children so if that counts I read many books🙂

English word you like the most: supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (from the movie Mary Poppins)

What do you spend your money the most on? Petrol! I would like to have an electric car one day or maybe one that uses Halusky🙂

Your favourite fruit: NOT MANGO!  I have a bad allergy to it🙁 However I love blueberries!

Your favourite quotation: It’s not so much what we have in this life that matters. It’s what we do with what we have – Fred Rogers


Pridaj komentár

Vaša e-mailová adresa nebude zverejnená. Vyžadované polia sú označené *